April 30, 2013

  • clouds and sunflowers

     

    I have taken up water color.  (cough)

     

    I don’t know how to do it yet, but it’s ever so fun to try.

     Last week when our class started a landscape it got me thinking about clouds and ever since then I’ve been noticing them. 

    Clouds Are Awesome.

    They’re so volatile and beautiful and amazing.  I used to think that clouds were mostly white or grey, but there are a lot of blue ones too.  The blustery spring weather we’re enjoying putting up with gives me so many changing clouds to observe.

     

    Our watercolor class didn’t learn much yet about how to paint clouds, as you can see.  I tried to paint some last night and they didn’t turn out at.all.

     

    But studying them has been rich.  Not to mention that it helps me look above the brown and the mud and the trash.  

    Which reminds me of what Andrew said in church on Sunday about how we tend to look down at the mud, but he’d been watching his two year old son wandering around outside and 90% of the time he was looking up.  There are some good life lessons in that observation.

    And while we’re on life lessons and clouds, the wildest and most wonderful clouds usually surround snow or wind or rain or something turbulent. And while I love a cloudless day, it doesn’t create an unforgettable sunset. 

    *******************************************************************************

    ^^^^^^^^^^This is one thing I did today.  Cuh-razy lady with 24 tomato plants!! 

    I also cleaned up two huge spills of cranberry juice that happened back to back.  And I tried to referee a big bad argument over whether the imaginary game was to involve Laura, Mary, Carrie and Jack OR Almanzo, Laura, Rose and Shep.  I think that after the big fight was over they didn’t play either choice.

    I’m taking a facebook break right now, but I still check my messages  (and will read what you comment on this post :)     Whenever I decide to stop doing facebook I feel free like a bird, even though I miss it.  I just have so little self-control with that network and sometimes a long break helps me get it back into perspective. 

    It is COLD, but warm weather is in the forecast.  It has been a long, slooooooooow spring.  Huge winds came.  The water is flowing, but the mud is pretty much dried up.  ((happiness))

    Forget spring and bring on full-fledged summer. 

    I pray that you will be committed to the One who is able to keep you from falling.

    Bye for now, comrades.

     

     

Comments (12)

  • i LOVE that cloud picture. i am quite impressed by your water color paintings. and even more impressed you are honing your talents today, now, when you have six kids and lots of responsibility!i do love a vibrant, growing soul in a lady.

    random story…when i was back in ohio, your name came up ( i think we talking about missing brenda weaver at my grandma’s funeral, and then on to lori’s new baby, etc, etc.)  my aunt mary horst said, ” i met her at johnny’s funeral. she is such a beautiful lady!” and i agreed, and then  smiled to myself because i knew i was going to tell you she said that.

  • Your paintings are lovely – and you can look at it like I do exercise – any time spent painting is more than you ever did before! I think your clouds show great promise and you have to believe me – I’m your teacher!

  • @mlt10202002 - Brenda was so sad to have missed that funeral.  And she was beyond delighted that the Sunday she came with Joe and Lori to to our church, Eric Weaver from Fairfield was visiting.  (He was here with a guy from there who’s dating a girl here.)  She & Lori were SO happy to see Weaver relatives way up here.  I think you guys would get on very famously with Joe and Lori.  What about a trip north???   And thanks for the random story.  I remember meeting a few of your relatives.  Not sure if I can picture Mary or not, but I like her.

  • I think you’re doing splendidly with your watercoloring!  Love it.

  • @quiet_hearts - i have always loved lori. she was such a funny, spunky little girl. we had great times with her family when we were growing up! i would absolutely love to reconnect with her now. i am glad they got to see some family, even in the far north.

  • SO proud of you for taking a class!  There are times when I think about it (knitting?  soap making?) but I always chicken out!  You inspire me.

    Sorry about the spilled juice.  That’s the kind of thing that just annoys me as a mother.  LOL  And juice is so hard to clean, you end up with at least one ore two sticky remains. 

    Totally hear you on the FB thing, too, you word it so well.

    The children look so sweet in the yellow field.

  • so beautiful kids in the yellow flower picture!!! I wonder what would be the name of those flowers? I felt inspired by the picture of your childhood home with so much flowers in front,so I have boughten plenty flowers.

  • @Lyssis Alini Windsor@facebook - It’s actually canola, a crop that’s combined. It is made into things like oil and margarine.   It’s so pretty in July or August.  Best of wishes to you with raising flowers.   I’m sure Mexican ones are gorgeous, but I know from Belize days that they take LOTS of work and water.    I am touched that my photo inspired you. 

  • I am so proud of you for learning watercolor.  It’s on my bucket list as well, and I save little floral watercolor pictures on cards and such, to learn from someday.  So happy that “someday” for you is “now.”  Love the sunflower especially, and the “learning to do clouds” picture.

  • I’m impressed that you, a mother of six and a full-time housekeeper, are taking watercolor classes. 

    I hope spring comes quickly to your part of the world!

  • I think too much of anything creates yuck in our lives.  Go you!  Enforcing those perspective (no fb) rules in your life!  The cloud perspective is always better than the mud perspective.  It is funny how we find both clouds and mud on fb.  Sometimes the mud overpowers the clouds over there, just sayin’. 

  • wow, luci! i think your watercolors are beautiful~ i love the first one of the 3 flowers too.so cool that you’re taking this up now.. i’ve been thinking alot about these kinds of things i.e. going after something you’ve always wanted to do, trying new things, not being afraid to branch out! i think being almost 40 does that to you. ;) you start taking inventory and mental lists and finding a new courage to try things~ anyway. very wordy way of saying, i’m inspired!! :) )

    lovely post. thoughts. love clouds too. so fascinating. reese is hollering outside the front door. gotta scoot. :) ) happy thursday. xo

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *