May 20, 2013

  • May life

    When I first started blogging I decided I wouldn’t write unless I had something insightful to say.

    But I ran out of insight pretty fast.  So skip this post if you’re looking for inspiration.  Grandma and my sisters will like it, I hope.

    *************************************************

    Friday evening, May 17

    I can’t explain what summer does for my soul.  And it’s not even summer yet. 

    It was Last Day at school.  We celebrated with games and hot dogs and softball.

    They had their (hand me down from auntie) dresses and hats and pink flip flops all laid out the night before for school picnic day. ^^^^

    egg and spoon race^^^^^^  Love their straight posture.

    piles of fun at human croquet ^^^^^^

    good sports at sack racing ^^^^^^

    Miss Janice was graceful as a deer ^^^^^^

    friends ^^^^^^

    stacking cups race ^^^^^

     conversation and hot dog roasting ^^^^^

    Homeschool facilitator wears Emma’s pink hat. Mr. Gary smothers a yawn.  Is Grandpa Arnold looking after Emma’s purse for her?

     

     Who can resist a man who loves the little ones?

    I haven’t been seeing much of Dan lately.  Wheat must be in the ground by the 20th of May, you see.  He works from dawn to dark.  And right now that means about 18 hours a day.  Then he will crash and in his words, we won’t get much out of him for a few days.

    His Sunday sermon is being formulated from the tractor seat.  He comes in late at night and eats cornflakes.    I take trips to the field and trips to town for parts.  Meals happen whenever they work out.  It’s fun.  But we’re all glad when it’s over.

    Having Tori home from school is kind of like having a live personal organizer around.  She says, “So what are we going to do today?” when she gets up in the morning and it doesn’t seem right to say, “Well I’ll be doing well if I get the laundry done and supper made.” It’s really good for me, but disconcerting too.

    Now it’s Monday morning, May 20.  The house is deliciously quiet for 8:30.  Jeans are in the washer.  I need to wake people, plant garden, sort through closets for garage sale items.  Liesl is cuddling with me on the couch.

    Victoria was experimenting with photography the other night.  These photos were taken after 9:00 p.m.

    And the sun sets at 10:15.

    Go here to read something good.

    “The soul must long for God in order to be set aflame by God’s love;

    but if the soul cannot yet feel this longing, then it must long for the longing.

    To long for the longing is also from God.”  Meister Eckhart

     

     

     

Comments (9)

  • Wowza, no one would get any sleep here if it was still that bright at 9:15! I’ll have to take a picture at 9:15 tonight just for you. ha.

    We still have this week and next week of school. The 30th is the last day.

  • I came to read because some days you just don’t need inspiration, you just want every day lovely posts by people enjoying life!! :)

    Can’t imagine it staying daylight that long. My kids would never go to bed!

  • Well,, Darlin’, this is delightful to me! Your daughter really should continue to enjoy photography; those photos are beautiful! I do long for God and for heaven on the new earth. Those days seem so distant and I feel the pang of longing as I trudge through these challenging moments. The joyful ones are still here for me and I do have sweet peas opening up against the chipped paint concrete block wall out front, and my Keria bush out back is flowering, so yeah, happiness in floral form. I also know that my family members love me. And the love and grace of Jesus abides in my spirit. But, UGH, WHY do I fall so easily into sadness? It’s the grief in “Oh, good grief” that takes over and I need help pulling out of that. I’ll put some happy music on and make a mug of mocha and sing my heart out!

  • Fun to hear from you again!  The girls are too cute in their matching dresses and hats. :)  You can send Tori down to my house for awhile. There is plenty to do around here and I looove having girls around. ;)  Oh, and tell her the pictures are very pretty; the first two especially are dreamy!

  • Loved reading this! The photos of the last day of school made me feel happy just looking at them because end-of-school picnics are so fun! While I was mowing today, I was thinking how each year I love the coming of summer more than the year before. I like winter, too, but I feel so happy, more than happy – excited, about this lovely warm weather. Sometimes it almost takes my breath away. The white, pink, and dark pink trees are blooming here right now so it’s hard to get enough of the beauty. Anyway, even though you didn’t explain what summer does for you, I think I understand in at least a small way.

     it doesn’t seem right to say, “Well I’ll be doing well if I get the laundry done and supper made.” I really did lol when I read that! It’s going to be good for me, too, to have Krista at home this summer.

    I always like when you post photos taken at night in the summer there. It’s just hard to imagine! You’ll have to put some more on in about a month when it’s really impressive!

  • your posts are always insightful. sometimes a peak into a life is the best inspiration there is.
    i laughed at your personal organizer. 
    tell your photographer that i think she captured something perfect.

    happy summer days to you. :)

  • fun post! i would love to have a personal organizer- although by the signs, i think i should have one in a few years!

  • I laughed at your personal organizer, too.

    I loved this peek into your community’s life.Happy for you that summer and longer days are here for you!

  • Wow good job Victoria on the photo’s !!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *