January 1, 2013

  • rEacHable GoAls

    Some far out dreams need to be laid down in the interest of peace and contentment.  Most of the time I’m resigned to the fact that I will likely never write anything brilliant, sing Handel’s Messiah, visit Italy, or learn to play the piano at nearly 40.

    Then there are goals/dreams that are on a back burner and you know they might always stay there, simmering away.  Mine are things like adopting a Down’s syndrome child from Serbia or Russia, visiting Chile, having a sister who lives next door and an avacado or pecan tree in the backyard, studying at Faith Builders with Dan, taking a watercolor or writing class, feeding hungry people under a burning Ugandan sun.

    But we need short term goals too, or life crumbles away. I remember feeling really discouraged at the beginning of last year because life felt like a meaningless cycle and the year ahead looked overwhelming.  But this year is different and I am surprised by hope.  I have a burning desire to purge and clean and maybe even beautify.  During the baby years (which lasted pretty long here winky) things were left to themselves and the result is not pretty.  I want to blame my lack of focus and discipline on the depression battle and mother-hood induced ADD.  I do okay with making things look under control on the surface.  But lately I can’t keep my mind off of how it would feel to have everything deep cleaned and organized.  I pray that some of this incessant dreaming can become reality.  It will take a miracle, but I am going to try to do my part.

    Yesterday I had an unexpected trip to town to pick Dan up while he got the windshield replaced on the pickup.  We went to Tim Horton’s for coffee and with the winter sunshine streaming in the windows and the busyness of our small city happening around us, I realized again that the important goals of life are attainable for anyone, no matter what year we’re entering or living in or saying goodbye to. 

    Like gratefulness.  It hits me when I pick a pineapple from the produce section.  Do you realize what a privilege that is?

    And love.  The stuff that overwhelms me when I see a little purple polly pocket shoe on the floor of the car and think of the brown curls and brown eyes that go with the little person who dropped it.

    And joy.  Because it’s a bright blue day and the sun is shining on white snow and there’s turkey soup for supper.

    And friendship.  What’s better than meeting a neighbor in the produce section of the supermarket and chatting till you feel like you’re in someone’s way and need to move along?

    So while life is complicated, it’s also so simple that I miss it sometimes.  My 2013 goals are brief:

    1) To know God better.

    2) To live simply.

    3) To give more.

    4) To expect less.

     These are the goals I want most to reach, even when the house is in shambles and life in general is just plain messy.

    ~Hope, love, and peace to you.

     

     

Comments (14)

  • Such good thoughts. Love your perspective!

  • Love this, Luci! I feel the same. By the way, just yesterday I stood in the produce department talking with a friend :) I needed that chat – felt like the sunshine was reaching and warming me from the inside out. I love how girl-talk can do that!

  • Thanks for this reminder. :)
    So often I feel like I am living without goals.
    Going along mindlessly….I don’t like it.
    But with all the busy-ness of life, it is hard to take the time to form definite goals & follow them intentionally.
    Yours feel like a breath of fresh air! :)
    Hope, love, & peace to you, too!

  • Great post.  And… I wish we had a Tim Hortons. 

  • I really do hope that your “simmering” dream of studying at FB will happen someday soon.

    Love your goals.  I haven’t thought long & hard on any resolutions this year; right now my main goal is to get through the next 3 months and bring this baby into the world.

    Btw, I did get your message…and I’m thinking about it every day…scared spitless, I am.

  • sitting with your love as winter sunshine streams in and coffee swirls in the air is really the very essence of hope, don’t you think? to have sunshine in winter. to have love. i love what you said about being able to buy a pineapple. gratefulness. i somehow want to own it someday. happy 2013 to you!! always love the luci posts. :)

  • Why do I always expect at some point that life will stop being messy? I always think it will clean up then we’re in the same old mess again or a brand new, scary  mess. ugh.

    I can relate.

  • a stellar post!
    i pray your goals are realized!
    i told linda this morning, i face this year not with choking desperation that things MUST change, but with a quiet, confident hope that things will change. i do hope that hope is rewarded.

  • great post. good goals. so easy to get into ruts and not live life intentionally. loved this!

  • Happy 2013!  I love your New Years Goals …. and I’m so with you about life being so complicated sometimes and other times we miss it because it’s so simple.  

  • Such a great perspective!! 

  • i read “motherhood induced add” and laughed. because i can relate.

    i’m liking your goals…one of mine at the moment is to get your card on its way to you.
    it’s still sitting here in my house! i hope that my Christmas wishes work retroactively. :)

    happy new year! with hope, love and peace right back to you.

  • Hey great stuff nice info your passing on
    article writing service

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *