September 17, 2012

  • September Stuff

    Little girl is asleep, clutching her blonde polly pocket with the pink dress  that has a taped shoulder strap because she insisted that I tape it for her this morning.

    Andre drove his 4 wheeler up the hill to the sawmill to sit in the loader and watch Dan & Terry saw logs. 

    Liesl was up there with Andre this morning for a while.  Andre came down and told her she should come up with him because there was a lumber customer there with a little girl just her age.  They came down later smelling of fresh fall air and she said she hadn’t talked to the little girl.  But Terry was up there smoking and he had on his jammie shirt and jammie pants and his hat with the tag showing.  Terrry is one of Dan’s employees.  He wears sweatpants a lot.  I guess Liesl considers those pajamas in a house where the guys wear jeans.  They love Terry because he gives them apple fritters from Robin’s Donuts.

    When Dan comes in for lunch he shakes his head at how pretty Liesl is and calls her his fuzzy fairy tale.  Andre prays and thanks God that they can have a good day at work.  He thinks he’s pretty big stuff and I love it.

    This morning I got the laundry out on the line early and baked some good but rich cookies that had lots of oats and coconut and chocolate chips and even a bit of wheat bran in them.  If mornings would always go like this one, I would soon start a blog with efficiency tips.  Unfortunately for me but fortunately for you, they normally don’t.

    I am high on fall.  We keep doing one more picnic, one more trip to the park, one more trip to the river, one more stop for icecream.  But the gorgeous weather just lasts and lasts. 

     

    This is the first year that I grew gladiolus.  Look into the heart of a glad and be glad.

    We took our first day of school 2012 photos in about 2 minutes. We were running late and then the teacher’s wife called and asked if I’d take a class photo for the first day.  I hadn’t combed my hair properly yet.  Or washed my face.  But I went, wearing my garden flipflops and old brown jacket.

    I love these four.  It’s surreal.  Why are we not mature like the parents of the 8th and 9th graders were when I taught school?  Times are changing, I just know it.

    *************************************************************

    When a girl turns 13 on 9-11 there is reason to celebrate.

     

    You can celebrate with mini pizzas made by 9 delighful girls.

    You can celebrate by playing Russian baseball in the neighbor’s sheltered backyard because the fall wind is blowing so crazily in your own.

    You can celebrate with mocha chiffon cake and icecream.

    You can celebrate other ways too.  Because 13 only comes once.

    ***************************************************

    Sometimes I feel like we’re a boring family. 

    But I guess we looked up Moby Dick after a lunch discussion yesterday.  After that we googled the Hotel De Glace in Montreal because of what Bryant read on the cereal box that morning, where we marveled over the cool, cool place with ice bar stools and ice beds and ice walls with people walking around in parkas.  Last night Dan made an elderly man happy be playing Edeweiss on his guitar and harmonica for him and taking him driving after a long and lonely week.  And the little girls’ latest fun is using cornstalks for band instruments and dancing around on the lawn singing and playing.

    I guess we’re normal.  We fight a lot. 

    And now I should go work on the blog post that I got on the computer to work on.

    Sending Monday love,

    ~Luci

     

Comments (9)

  • Love the pics. That blue dress is so pretty! 13 is definitely something to celebrate! :D

  • Ah… I love this! Happy fall days to you. I also love fall…the wind …not so much!

  • Boring family? I think not! Your children are at such a great age ~ enjoy them. These will be days you will look back upon and wish back (maybe for just one day) someday.  ;)

  • Love the pictures and yes, 13 is a very special age!

  • Fall usually begins with delicious weather that sends you for one last harrah before cold weather sets in. It looks like you’re celebrating life quite well!

  • Great pictures. I often think we’re a boring family ;) 13! What a special birthday for her. All the wonderful food and fun sounds lovely. How nice of Dan to play music and give the friend a nice long drive around. That’s wonderful.

  • This is late, but I love how Dan called Liesl his fuzzy fairy tale. I loved to read about your efficient morning because it feels so good to have mornings like that. (I don’t have many.) I love the photo of you and Liesl. And, the one of Victoria, too. And, I always enjoy your writing, even though I don’t comment much. :-/

  • When I see a veil on here, it feels like when Anne of Green Gables said, “A bosom friend!” :) I saw your comment with Gail on Richgem and came to visit. Oh how I love Fall! God’s creativity is all over the place here in Lancaster Co. ~Blessings on your Wednesday.

  • @threejoys - Thank you for stopping by and saying hello.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *