November 29, 2012

  • Book winner-and why I love where I live

    Victoria typed up the names of all of you who entered the giveaway for Dorcas Smucker’s book, Tea and Trouble Brewing.  I cut them carefully into strips and mixed them up and put them into a bowl.  Andre closed his eyes and drew a name.  And the winner is #writersblock02!  Congratulations, Andrea!  I’m excited about mailing a package all the way to Lancaster, PA, for you.  :)   And for those of you who didn’t win, see previous post for how to order the book.

    And thanks to all of you who entered.  I enjoyed hearing about what you like about where you live.  I started my own post on a day when I was feeling sad about  how long winter stretches out before us.  In writing it, I again realized how attached I am to the Great White North.

    Post below:

    They were off to school in a flurry of skates and shin pads and elbow pads and hockey pants.  The insanity has just begun. silly

    The car thermometer showed -23 degrees Celsius on the drive to school.  I`d left my gloves at home in the craziness of getting out the door and the steering wheel was cold long after the suburban warmed up.

    Last night I went on a walk after school and the sun set at 4:30-ish. It doesn’t get very high in the sky on the shortest days of the year.

    And it wasn’t up yet at 9:00 this morning, but the sky was blue and pink and promising.

    Our neighbors saw this grizzly this fall.   Its unusual to see them here, but they seem to travel through occasionally.

    I know the spot to look for the cow moose in the bush beside the road on the drive to school.

    Last night I burst into unexplainable tears because the overhead light in our bedroom seemed so dim and the four walls of the house were coming in on me, even though I went out to play with Liesl and Andre in the morning and took a walk later in the day.

    Dan took us to town for icecream after supper because he knew I was blue.

    I dream of the days in Belize when the children put on their flip flops and got on their bikes and went off to school.  I dream of Florida, of Paraguay, of Kenyan sunshine beating hotly down.

    Our neighbor, Mr. Sadlier, shot a record book elk last week.

     

    The aeriator on our dugout isn’t working right and only a local can understand what dugout water is like that’s not getting air.  Hold your nose and close your eyes while you take a bubble bath at my house right now.

    Winter afternoon sunshine is glorious.

    In town there’s this northern camaraderie that I can’t explain.  Big diesel pickups idling.  Tuques (US stocking caps—and yes, wikipedia told me to spell it that way!)  and scarves and boots everywhere.  People walking quickly to their vehicles.  Long lines at Tim Hortons drive-thru.  No size 10 boys’ coats to be found.  Snow stamping and shivering.

    Oh land of my birth, you have captured my heart.  You hold it tightly and don’t let it go.  Sometimes I know that I will not survive you.   I cry quietly on my winter walk because winter has only begun, the water smells bad, and everywhere I look there is a semi doing oilfield hauling.   The tears freeze on my cheeks.  (I do not exaggerate for effect.)

    *note:  Some of my friends absolutely LOVE winter here.  Long snowy days make them happy, busy in their cocoons of sewing or crafting or cooking or feeding their cattle and chickens.*

     

    Then I catch my breath at your frost and your wide spaces and your wildlife.  I bask in the crackle of the fire and the falling snow.  I am proud of our red-cheeked hockey players.  I drink a chai latte and talk with my friend at the coffee shop.  There is lots of time to read a bedtime story.  Maybe I will even start to blog in earnest.

    We will survive another winter.  We will even enjoy it.  Chinooks will breathe over us when it feels like we can’t stand another day of cold. 

    And then the spring mud will come.

    Soon the wild busyness of summer will be upon us.  Planting and haymaking and picnics and weddings and camping and DOING.

     

    I will smile again, breathe in warmth and light, and forget about vitamins and anti-depressants and SAD lights.

    I love where we live because it is where we’re supposed to be right now.  I love it because of the people we share life with here.  I love it because it’s beautiful and free. 

Comments (11)

  • It’s definitely gorgeous there- that first picture is breathtakingly beautiful- but long winter with short days and so much coldness is enough to make me not want to move there. A visit would be wonderful, though!!

  • Huh, what?! I Won? I never win! So awesome, and thank you!

    There is something about the long cold winters in the north that intrique me. Gorgeous–but so hard.
    Even here in Pa, Gene & I talk alot about our long winters (we think they’re long) but they’re not compared to your winters.
    You know of the silliest things that gets me depressed in the winter, is all the WINTER WEAR, boots and mittens and hats and scarves that completely take over my house.  Drives me crazy every year.

  •    Where you live does look beautiful! When I was little and we lived in PA, it was so cold in the winter, I’d break out in hives. I was glad when we moved out west, then to Mexico, then stayed out here for good. But someday, I want to come up to your neck of the woods and see how things are; your life, you, etc.I’d stick out like a sore thumb (I’m not Mennonite) but I’d certainly behave myself and not cause you any embarrasment!  Now, I have an idea for a new post…What I Like About Where I Live. Maybe a list version would work. Dorcas sounds wonderful! I hope this winter isn’t too brutal for you. Maybe you can blog regularly, which would force you to go out and seek a crazy adventure now and then for new material. Or maybe it all happens in and around your house?  The hockey players on the ice are so cute, all lined up! I can’t stay up on skates; ice was made to slip on. Heehee.

  • Life comes is seasons.  The challenge is to find ways to be content in all of them.  Prayers for you as you battle the drearies.  Beautiful beautiful photos.

  • I love your post! I can almost feel the claustrophobia FOR you. I wish we had more of a winter here than we do but honestly I doubt I could handle THAT much winter.  It is really beautiful, though!

  • Your photos are so beautiful!Wow,that bear and elk are so amazing!And right in your”neighborhood”!Blessings to you and your family this winter.

  • @Richgem - You make me laugh and you’re sweet.  Not everyone where I live is Mennonite and I love all of my neighbors.  (WE’re the ones who stick out like sore thumbs.:)  So come and visit.  But wait till summer.

  • I love your positive outlook, yet you’re honest about the tough stuff  too. I hope this winter isn’t as hard as some in the past have been for you. And if I am tempted to complain about Iowa winters, I will think of you.:)

  • my belated congratulations to @writersblock02 !!! there’s something just plain fun knowing that one of my friends won. :)

    besides belize, did you really live/visit all of those places? florida? paraguay? and kenya? or did you mean “dream” literally and not some sweet warm sun from memorable locations?

    i’m thinking this, what you wrote, will always be the best parts of where we are, no matter how long our winters are, “I love where we live because it is where we’re supposed to be right now. I love it because of the people we share life with here.” the warmth of that touches heart places…

    love ya luci.

  •        @down_onthefarm - I was happy that it was writersblock too.  She was one of my first friends on xanga.

    No, never visited the above besides Belize.  Total daydreams.  We have seen Mexico, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Grenada, Romania, a tiny bit of Hungary.  Overnighted in London but never saw it by day.  I sound like I’m bragging.  Mostly I’m grateful.

    Love back to you, Cindy.

  • didn’t sound like bragging at all. and besides, i asked. i LOVE to travel…but it’s mostly a day dream thing for me at this time in my life. london would be my first pick for international destinations. and you overnighted there?! :) and saw hungary?! and romania?! we’ll have alot of catching up till we cross paths irl. because i want to hear about those places and why you were there. i sound demanding…don’t i? mostly just intense interest. :)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *