December 17, 2012

  • the meanness in me

    Like a moth to a flame, I am drawn to the news.  Elections.  The top 10 newsmakers of 2012 according to Maclean’s in the dental office.  War in Israel. School shootings.

    In times of tension and tragedy, we all have our ideas of how to make the world a better place.  Republicans in office.  Tougher gun laws.  Getting concealed weapons permits.  Prayer brought back to schools.  We’ve heard so many sides.  We feel like we’ve heard it all.  We nurse our own opinions.

    In the face of the horror of Friday, it feels insensitive not to speak of it.  But when we try, there is little to say.  At least for some of us. 

    I confess to being a silent lurker, way too interested in the facebook debates, shaking me head at all the opinions warring their way through cyberspace but returning again like the moth to the huge flame.  I’ve had times in my life of control when I refuse to follow the madness.  But right now I’m not being disciplined.

    I don’t have the audacity here to suggest solutions and proper responses.  For every word I write in this small space there have been a million more already said by people a lot more important than me.

    What I have to say is this:

    The meanness inside my own soul scares me most of all.

    Last weekend with the face of that young gunman burned in my mind, and firm resolves to hold my children closer and cherish life more, it raised its ugly head anyway.

    Like when the 10 year old I love the most complained for the 467th time about the 15 minute job of putting away a basket of clean laundry.  I wanted to shake sense into him–and hard.  For the 467th time.

    I fought over small things with Dan.  Like couldn’t he keep the little humans quiet for the 20 minutes that I read our bedtime book to the three oldest children?  I had done it for him over and over last winter when he read The Scarlet Pimpernel to them.

    And if I was a cursing person I would curse the messy container drawer and the irresponsible people who put away dishes and don’t care where they land.

    There were small irritations over the way we do our Christmas caroling.

    And self righteous shaking of my head over people and their strong ideas.  {In reality almost everyone is trying to find their way in the confusion like me.}

    There were frantic, laughing but also slightly bitter and confused prayers because the little 3 year old  has started to tell me that she doesn’t like me when I punish her.

    Strong willed teenagers sometimes have me clenching my fists.

    I nag too much and rant too often instead of quietly stating and sticking with my word.

    I don’t want to think of myself as an angry person.  But it lurks too close for comfort.

    Dan spoke in church on Sunday on the book of Philemon.  Paul writes to Philemon to convince him to accept and embrace his runaway slave, Onesimus, who not only ran away from his master Philemon, but also stole things from him.  Paul says that whatever wrong Onesimus has done or whatever he owes should be credited to his own account.  Just like Jesus imputes righteousness to us. 

    I need that imputation.  Badly.

    (I also told Dan that I needed imputed righteousness to get me out of bed this cold, dark Monday morning, but that is beside the point.)

    I need Jesus.  I need the forgiveness of my family when I apologize for the 1278th time.  I need grace to live unselfishly, to serve with joy.  I need the discipline to avoid the arguments yet the backbone to stand up for Christ. 

    Most of all I need His Love.  Just like the whole world does.

    I love these points from this post by aSeriesOfFortunateEvents:

    I’m NOT Going to:
    Stop believing in life after death. – John 3:16
    Expect more of people than I am willing to give of myself -Mark 12:31
    Say something negative when there’s no need for it- Proverbs 21:23
    Walk away from someone who needs something when I can give it to them- Matthew 25:40
    Waste opportunities for hugs, from anyone-Romans 12:10
    Focus on the bad things in life- Philippians 4:8
    Lose hope or faith- Hebrews 11:1
    Assume that I know more than God- Isaiah 55:9

     

    *****************************************************

    It makes me feel bad when I see that people visit this blog and there are no new posts. 

    I’m floundering a bit with depression.  Floundering but still afloat.  I think.winky  I can’t seem to write and enjoy it like I did here.  I miss it.  I need the wisdom it takes to relax and not take my very serious self so seriously.

    Here is a bit of a post I wrote the other day.  Just because this one needs to be lengthened, you know. sad And because I’d uploaded photos to go with it.

    Last night we watched I Really Absolutely Must Have Glasses.  (Watch and enjoy 10 minutes of Charlie & Lola.)  Natalia didn’t have school today and woke with a burning desire to make paper glasses.  Her first tries ended in frustration, so I helped cut the frames out of cardboard.

    “Oh Mom, you’re SO good,” they breathed as I cut them each a unique shape.

    “I’m gonna look cute, Andre’s gonna look awesome, and Tillie will look pretty,” said Liesl of the many words.

     Tim Horton’s holiday cups and doughnut bags are so cute that I saved them when we went there the first time for the season.  Now I should probably throw them away because I don’t know what to do with them.

     

    Yesterday I made three pans of lasagna for sewing circle by 8:00 a.m and we were all at school a few minutes before 9:00.  When I accomplish great things I always wonder why I don’t just make a habit of great accomplishments.

    I heard or read on the news at least three times that the duchess Kate was in the hospital for a few days with acute morning sickness.  Can you imagine the world knowing that detail of your life?   Imagine being the nurse who looks after the princess.  Imagine the life of the royal child.

    I wonder if Mary had morning sickness when she carried Jesus.

    Some years I let each of the children pick a special cookie recipe and we make it together for Christmas. It’s fun and gives us a nice little stash of treats. This Christmas I tried the unbaked fruitcake that Dan’s mom makes. I’m not a big fruitcake fan, but this recipe is extra special.

    Little fingers are playing Jingle Bells and Good King Wenceslas on the piano these days.

    Victoria was taking pictures of the sun shining through the condensation on the office window.

    This is good fun on a snowy day.

    Liesl wears this outfit every single day if I let her.  She thinks she is destined for stardom.

    And I am working on thee perfect green and gold Christmas dress for Victoria.  But the plaids will not line up.  Sometimes when I’m at the sewing machine I want to scream “MOOO….THERRRRR!!!!!!” very loudly.

    heartPeace to you all this Christmas.heart

     

     

     

     

Comments (17)

  • Oh I like your post Luci, It echos so much of what is in the hearts of so many of us but, unable to put it into words that make sense.  Those little glasses are cute. Great idea !

  • Oh, the meanness in me…….yes, Luci, I know too well what that means.

    Challenging post.Thank you.

  • Just a word of encouragement. I can identify with you in many ways.That bloodline we share is not easy with it’s tendency for depression,a hyperactive mind,and I battle a critical spirit that is not kind…But now for the encouragement …as you get older you will mellow..I see a huge change in all these things in the last years and sometimes I wonder if I have any spark left,but it is a real blessing to not be so ruled by emotions. Getting older has it’s blessings and feeling settled is one of them….

  • wow luci. i love how you think and write. and i hope that saying it again doesn’t somehow diminish my sincerity.

    i told The Farmer how the terrible tragedy in ct stirs how i feel around the sanctity of life sunday in january. if i were in utero…there would be many to champion my right to life, my value as HIS creation, and my worth as a human being on this planet. and yet…how long is that true? how long is someone valuable? how long do i treat them as having worth? till they “bump” into me? i “live” this and that for the unborn? and we should. absolutely. but what about the person next to me on the church pew? at my kitchen table? and i am confronted. sobered. and challenged with the “meanness in me.”

    and while i have shed tears and prayed gasping almost wordless prayers, i’ve also been thinking about what the “contact with the road” is here for me. being touched is not the same as being changed. love what you wrote. needing Jesus. and His love. to live it right here. right now. 

    those glasses are cute! how fun! but the kids? even more so! i look at that pic with wordy liesl, andre with his eyes pinched shut and your other daughter with that beautiful smile of new teeth and i just want to squeeze them!

    peace to you too luci!

  • The other day I was thinking “I wonder if I am going to spend my whole life gulping down cuss words and trying to respond differently than how I feel?”  Or at some point, do I become filled enough with God’s spirit that doing/feeling/thinking the right thing comes more naturally?  I may never find out!  So yes, I can relate to what you wrote. 

    And cute pictures.  It is fun to hear about other’s everyday lives!  And wow! Three pans of lasagna by 8 AM!!! I would feel productive too!

  • Good thoughts. Made me think on this Tuesday, when I’ve been ‘bumped’ and what spilled was not pretty.

    Thanks for sharing!

  • @Angela Fehr@facebook - I would love that.  Is tomorrow a good day for you? 

  • Reading your posts make me feel like you’re sitting across the table from me visiting. :) Love your writing style and most times I find myself nodding in agreement. I can relate to the “meanness in me”. Oh, that my Father would take it from me!!! But, He has not, and I struggle with it far too often. Bless you, Luci for you openness!!

  • i love your realness! and wish we could share a timmy’s and have a good long chat. ;) )

    merry christmas luci!!

  • very VERY good post, enjoyed it all, esp the charlie and lola glasses. 

  • this is great. i can relate to all of it. thanks so much for always being real. blessing on your family this Christmas.

  •  Wasn’t sure where you were going with that title, but as I began to read I really connected with what you were saying and can really relate!! Thanks for sharing!

  • Yes, I am Nancy & Gloria’s sister. I’ll have to tell them I get to talk to you sometimes. I enjoy your posts too. I think writing down stuff is so important. Right now I’m going through my posts and printing out all the cute precious sayings from years gone by. If I wouldn’t have written them down I would forget. I hope you have a blessed Christmas too!

  • Luci, I love this!  If I were to describe your blog I’d call it “where heaven touches earth.”  I love the way you share the tension and emotion that happens in all of our souls and spin into it tiny, interesting details of every day life.  You make me want to come live in your house. And that last sentence about screaming MOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOther at the sewing machine?  I’m going to be doing that on Friday!  Love you!

  • This was so great. and so true..I think we all struggle with meannness inside.
    You have such and open heart, it’s why I like your blog so much.

    The glasses are cute. so fun.
    Happy sewing to you. I am the world’s worst seamstress and therefore don’t even attempt!

    Hope your family has a Very Merry Christmas!

  • This is so so good, and so REAL.
    I so love the honesty with which you write, but it isn’t a depressing honesty.
    (I hope that comes out right?!)
    Sometimes there is a realness that is depressing and overload,
    and then there is an honesty that speaks life, and Jesus.
    Yours is the latter.
    Thank you…

    The sewing and screaming “mooooooo-ther!!” made me laugh. YES!!! With ya there!

    Merry Christmas!

  • this is SUCH a good post!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *